Andhra Pradesh: Three kidnapped TDP polling agents rescued by EC

On Monday, the Andhra Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Mukesh Kumar Meena told PTI that three Telugu Desam Party (TDP) polling agents who were allegedly kidnapped in the district of Chittoor, have been tracked down and brought back to safety.

The Telugu Desam Party agents were purportedly abducted from Bokaramanda village in Sadum Mandal, which is a part of the Punganuru Assembly constituency, according to a news statement from the CEO`s office. The Chittoor district is home to this village. According to Meena, “The district in charge of the TDP Jagan Mohan Raju filed a complaint that TDP agents belonging to polling stations 188, 189 and 199 were kidnapped by YSR Congress Party leaders while on the way to the polling stations”, reported PTI.

As a result, the CEO made sure that the Chittoor district election officials as well as the Andhra Pradesh Police Department responded quickly to rescue the kidnapped agents from Pileru post which they were allowed to resume their official duties. Additionally, Meena has also informed PTI that the search for these perpetrators is ongoing, with positive results expected. These kidnappers would then be apprehended and tried under Section 359-374 IPC- Offence of kidnapping.

In Andhra Pradesh, where there are 25 seats in the Assembly and 175 in the Lok Sabha, simultaneous elections are currently taking place. This election will be held in all 96 Parliamentary Constituencies spread over nine states and one union territory. This incident is a testament to the fact that politics can indeed be played dirty, even in a democratic country like India. Not only does it raise concern regarding the challenges faced by the Election Commission of India in the process of general elections, but it also outlines the potential threats to a democratic election- a fair and just one. Now that the fourth phase of voting has begun, more than half of the general election phases have been completed. The remaining polls will be held on May 20, May 25, and June 1. The counting of votes is scheduled for June 4th.

(With inputs from PTI)

Leave a Comment